Shane Sweetnam won the $8,000 G&C Farm 1.45m speed class aboard Sweet Oak Farm’s Solerina and then went on to take top honors in the $6,000 Spy Coast Farm 1.40m jump-off class aboard Spy Coast Farm, LLC’s Eregast Van’t Kiezelhof on Wednesday. Laura Chapot also had a win on day one riding Mary Chapot’s Zealous in the $6,000 Spy Coast Farm 1.40m Speed Challenge.

Brazil’s Rodrigo Pessoa and HH Let’s Fly galloped to victory in the $30,000 Ruby et Violette WEF Challenge Cup Round 1.

Peter Wylde (USA) and The Wannahave Group’s Sandor De La Pomme finished second with their time of 36.392 seconds. Third went to Shane Sweetnam (IRL) aboard Spy Coast Farm, LLC’s Siri with a time of 36.591 seconds. Luis Larrazabal (VEN) and Anabel Simon’s G&C Sacramento placed fourth with their time of 36.664 seconds.

Week one continued on Friday with a win for New York’s Georgina Bloomberg and South Street in the $1,500 Adequan 7-Year-Old Young Jumper Championship. Out of 35 competitors, ten entries went clear to jump-off, and Bloomberg and South Street had the fastest of eight double clear rounds in a time of 31.818 seconds. Laura Chapot finished second aboard Mary Chapot’s Castellana with a jump-off time of 32.829 seconds. Marilyn Little and Raylyn Farms, Inc.’s Nightfire 25 were third in 33.224 seconds.

Other highlight classes in the International Arena on Friday included the $6,000 Spy Coast Farm 1.40m jump-off and speed classes. The jump-off class was won by Laura Kraut and Wish, owned by Stone Hill Farm. The speed class saw a win for Darragh Kenny aboard Cavallo Farms, LLC’s Gucci.

Over 3,500 fans packed the stands at the PBIEC on the opening Saturday night to watch the women beat the men for the fifth year in a row in the $55,000 Nespresso Battle of the Sexes. It was the closest race yet in the three-phase competition between the male and female teams, but the ladies pulled out another victory in the end with a final score of 24-20.

The women’s team was captained by Georgina Bloomberg and also included riders Laura Kraut, Margie Engle, Marilyn Little, Maggie Bracco, Nicole Bellissimo, Debbie Stephens, Brianne Goutal, Candice King, and Schuyler Riley.

Charlie Jayne led the men’s team, which included riders Shane Sweetnam, Richie Moloney, Daniel Bluman, Luis Larrazabal, Ramiro Quintana, Steve Schaefer, Darragh Kenny, Alex Granato, and Nick Skelton.

In addition to the winning prize money, a few special awards were presented this evening. Darragh Kenny won a gift certificate from The Brazilian Court Hotel and Beach Club for the overall best time in both the speed and match race rounds aboard his mount Vanotrouska.

A $1,000 prize was also to be awarded to the rider that had the most clear rounds in the six-bar competition. When Skelton, Bloomberg, and King all cleared the final round and decided not to continue any further, the money was split between all three riders.

The $25,000 Suncast® 1.50m Championship Jumper Classic was held in the International Arena in the afternoon with a win for McLain Ward riding Ilan Ferder and Missy Clark’s Zhum CW. In a class of 18 entries, nine jumped the first round course without fault to jump off, and Ward and Zhum CW completed the fastest double clear round in 38.663 seconds.

In the International Arena on Sunday, Michael Hughes and Christina Fried’s MacArthur won the morning’s $10,000 Griffis Group SJHOF High Junior Jumper Classic. The $10,000 Animo USA Medium Amateur-Owner Jumper Classic saw a win for Santiago Diaz and Quel Pacha.

The second week of competition at the 2013 FTI Consulting Winter Equestrian Festival (FTI WEF), sponsored by The Mar-a-Lago Club, concluded on Sunday afternoon with a win for Charlie Jacobs (USA) and CMJ Sporthorse LLC’s Flaming Star in the $30,000 Mar-a-Lago Club Grand Prix.

Jumping a course set by Eric Hasbrouck, 46 horse and rider combinations contested Sunday’s class. Thirteen entries jumped clear to advance to the jump-off, and 10 went double clear. The fastest of those clear jump-off rounds belonged to Charlie Jacobs and Flaming Star in a time of 37.163 seconds.

Alvaro de Miranda (BRA) and RD Jumping Higher, Ltda.’s Show Show finished second stopping the clock in 37.413 seconds. Reed Kessler (USA) and Ligist were third with a time of 37.708 seconds.